Article Text

Download PDFPDF
2011 Hippocrates Prize

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Wales' first national poet Gwyneth Lewis and outgoing Chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners Professor Steve Field CBE have joined the judging panel for the international competition for poetry and medicine, the 2011 Hippocrates Prize, which has a £15 000 award fund for unpublished poems in English.

The prize has two categories: ‘Open’ awards, for which anyone in the world can enter, and a UK NHS related category which is open to National Health Service employees, health students, and those working in professional organisations involved in education and training of NHS students and staff.

With a first prize for the winning poem in each category of £5000, the Hippocrates prize is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single poem.

Many outstanding poets have written their best work in their late teens. This time therefore, with the support of the charity Head Teachers and Industry, the organisers are also inviting young poets to take on the challenge.

The inaugural 2010 Hippocrates Prize attracted over 1600 entries from 31 countries, from the Americas to …

View Full Text


  • Competing interests None.

  • Provenance and peer review Not commissioned; not externally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles